1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Midwest guy with questions!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by RangerPlowed, Dec 17, 2007.

1. RangerPlowed

RangerPlowed Junior Member

Hey fellow plowers, I'm new to this sort of thing. I heard about plowsite from another forum. For starters, I drive a "98 Ranger Ex-Cab, 4x4 of course. Has an Auto trans. I have been tinkering with the idea of putting a plow on my truck for the last 2 seasons. I live in Chicago so we get a good amount of snow fall each winter. I have also thought of starting my own snow removal company. Now for the questions. I am a total newbie to this plowing thing. I don't know which plow is the best, whether to buy new or used or even how to go about installing it. I have also heard that when you plow, you tend to go through trannys like nothing. Is my truck even big enough to plow? I see plenty of Ford F-Series and Cummins TD's with plows, obviously all fullsize trucks. I have heard of Western plows, and unimounts. Not sure which is best or if there are other types. Hope you guys can help me out.
  2. droptine

droptine Member