1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Meyers E-57 Newbie pump question

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by tryn2lrn, Jun 14, 2004.

1. tryn2lrn

tryn2lrn Junior Member

Hello all, I am a plow newbie and have a Meyers pump question. I read in the manual that they recommend storing the pump in the up position which I did NOT do when I took it off. I went over and pulled up the piston I could hear it sucking in the fluid, but when I let it go fluid shot out the top of the pump and drained inside the rubber cover and leaked all over the place. I believe it came out the filler hole from the looks of the diagram. That appears to have two hex nuts there and they both appear snug. Is that some kind of relief valve? If so I guess I have to hook up the power plug again and raise the piston that way, correct? I guess I will have to buy some more fluid, I lost quite a bit! Just tell me it's normal and I don't have to take my new pump back:cry:

2. PLOWMAN45

PLOWMAN45 2000 Club Member

i keep mine all year long i coat it with white grease and push the ram down

3. Garagekeeper

Garagekeeper Senior Member

Plow Storage

Yes there is a vent on the top of the filler plug that fluid can blow out of, and your are more that likely going to have to add additional fluid before you use your plow this coming season.
    The whole idea of having the lift cylinder rod extended is to have the cylinder bore filled with fluid to prevent rust from forming on the cylinder wall.
    Plus it allows you to wipe the cylinder rod down an coat it with WD40 or Vasoline to keep it from rusting.