1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Meyer Electro-touch overload problem

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Elkhunter, Mar 20, 2007.

1. Elkhunter

Elkhunter Junior Member

I'm new to this whole thing, so I hope someone can help me out. I bought a 2005 Ford F250 with a Meyer c-7.5 Plow. It is equipped with the E-60 Power Unit and the Electro-Touch controller. I initially had a problem wherein once I angled the plow, the red light on the Electro-touch controller would come on, and I would have to turn it off and then back on again to re-set it. It now does that all the time whenever I turn the blade either to the right or the left. The blade turns fine, it's just that once turned, the overload light comes on and the plow is frozen until you "reset" it by turning it off and on again. The owner's manual indicates that the overload will occur due to overheating or a short circuit. Since this occurs right off the bat before I even move the vehicle, I am assuming that it is due to a short-circuit. Has anyone ever had this problem before, and where should I start to try and fix it??? Help!!!!

2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

Has it ever tripped the overload light while raising the plow?

3. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran