1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

meyer e47 wont hold angle to right

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by chirsa, Nov 20, 2015.

1. chirsa

chirsa Junior Member

So this is my first year in the snow plowing business, I bought a used Meyer e47 after getting it all installed and working, I took it out for a test plow we just got some snow here so perfect timing. When on the test plow I noticed the blade would not hold an angle the blade would go back and forth which ever way there was more weight pushing against it. So I went through the workshop manual diagnostic. I live about an hour away from the nearest dealer so I bought c valve o-ring kit, crossover rebuild kit, and what I ended up with also is a pump relief valve. instead of the pilot check valve and piston. I installed the new o-ring on c valve and rebuilt the crossover relief valve which I did find the bottom o- ring missing a chunk out of it, and since I didn't have the pilot check valve to replace I took it apart and inspected it, the piston would not move with a magnet I had to use a punch to tap on it to get it to move. once out I did find some light rust on the piston, I used very fine steel wool to clean it up. installed everything rebled the system and the plow would hold if the blade was turned to the right one time but if you pushed on it to turn left it would colapse the piston then you could move it to the right or left by hand. took it apart again and found a peice of metal shaving around the piston keeping it from moving, I removed it, reinstalled everything verified the piston moves freely, reinstalled and bled system. now the blade will hold if turned to the right nice and solid but stil