1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Meyer E47 Low pressure, high amp draw

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Captain Bravo, Dec 14, 2013.

1. Captain Bravo

Captain Bravo Junior Member

I am a fairly competent mechanic, but I am new to snow plows. I traded a guy for a 93 Chevy K1500 with a STP 7.5 with an old E47. (The reason I think it is old is that it doesn't have a drain plug.) I changed the fluid because the previous owner had put transmission fluid in it. I flushed out the rams and refilled everything with SAM snow plow fluid. Then it was working fine a few days ago.

Now it won't lift or lifts very slowly and has very high amp draw. The truck has a new battery, and I put the trolling motor from my boat in it and wired it in straight to the the solenoid. (and parallel with the starting battery). Not every time, but probably a third of the time it draws so much power it will stall the truck. Not just at idle, but even if I rev it up.

I put a pressure gauge in and it only builds about 1,000psi.

Any ideas of what could make it draw so much power and only build 1,000psi?

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

The pumps shot is my guess. It stalls the trk b/c you running the motor to much that the alt can't keep up. I'm betting the previous owner put trans fluid in b/c hr knew the pump was getting weak

3. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

Check filters, two lower bolts on front of pump. Check your connections, make sure they are clean. Try jumper cable from battery to pump motor to rule solenoid having too much resistance. If it still does it after all this could be bad motor or pump.

4. Captain Bravo