1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Meyer E-47 won't raise

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by SnowGoJoe, Nov 15, 2009.

1. SnowGoJoe

SnowGoJoe Junior Member

I've been browsing the forums here for some time, and this site is awesome. I couldn't help but join up. This rocks.

Let me start by saying: I'm very new to this. This will be my second year of plowing (and by plowing, I mean my driveway and a few other friends' driveways and generally receive my payment in the form of a 30 pack of PBR or with free babysitting). My background is that of an Electrical Engineering Technician (Michigan Tech) and I work primarily in the IT field.

I purchased an unknown year Meyer 7' plow and E-47 pump to fit my '93 F-150 4x4 extended bed (best $800 i have ever spent-- that was the truck. the plow was $500 and it cost $250 to have a mount welded). So far, I'm under the cost of a nice new snowblower, and I get to listen to NPR and drink coffee for 10 minutes instead of trying to find someone to watch my son for an hour and a half while I clear the drive (i'm a single dad). So, I'm pretty pleased with the way things turned out.

The only problem I had with the setup last season was that a hydraulic angle adapter broke off on one of the angling pistons. I replaced it, bled the hose and piston, and was in good shape.

At the end of the season, I dismounted the plow, covered it with a tarp, removed the pump from the truck and stored indoors, and kept the hoses connected to each unit. Did some cleaning to the pump since I had it indoors (no inside cleaning, just outside de-gunking, etc).