1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Meyer Drive Pro (pics included)

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by jefx, Dec 6, 2008.

1. jefx

jefx Junior Member

Hi. This is my first post here. I have ran many searches here on the Meyer Drive Pro plow with little success. There just doesn't seem to be much info about it. I figured I'd add some info for others who are interested in it. I operate heavy equipment for a living and have many years experience of snow removal with loaders and graders but this is my first venture into personal plowing.

I just recently had one installed on a '99 Ford Ranger 4X4. I am very happy with the set-up. I've only had 3 snows with it so far, and none more than 3 inches. I plow about 8-10 driveways and so far, it's only been for personal use....family, friends, neighbors etc. I have commercial insurance and I would like to take on some customers in the near future.

I chose the Meyer Drive Pro over the Suburbanite/Homesteader because I wanted something that could handle light commercial use. I chose it over the Sno-Way, because I personally don't like the idea of a poly plow (just a personal preference). The Meyer Drive Pro seemed to fit exactly what I wanted.

I was at first worried that it would have a problem with backdragging snow away from garage doors etc., but it exceeded my expectations. It does a more than adequate job, especially considering it's weight. I was also a little concerned about the pump speed, it is slower than I'm used to, but that turns out to be a good thing. I feel safer and more cautious plowing drives with the pump speed.