1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Meyer Classic Questions

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by zr900, Jan 15, 2012.

1. zr900

zr900 Junior Member

I was thinking about putting a plow on my 99 Silverado 1500. I have no first hand experience with meyer products.
    Are these decent plows for doing 10 driveways and helping a friend with his commercial lot?
    Plowing time would be about 4-6 hours per average snowfall.
    Is the asking price fair?
    How heavy is this setup?
    I am wondering if this looks like the correct mount for 99 up GM 1500's.

http://southbend.craigslist.org/pts/2787897457.html

2. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

Looks like a ST 7.5. Pay very close attention to the pivot pins on the moldboard. These tend to rust then rip right off the plow. I have one of these plows and have no complaints about it. I have ran meyer plows for many years with very few issues. Price seems about par to me, not what I would consider a steal. The big thing would to have the pump gone over just to be sure everything is working properly.

Don't quote me but think these plows are in the 400-600 pound range.

3. zr900

zr900 Junior Member

Thanks for the reply.

Anything else to look for when looking at the plow?

4. kimber750

Rust holes, but looks to be in pretty good shape in the pics. Look over the wiring for splices or melted wires. Would be nice to see it in action before buying but that is not so easy when it is not mounted to a truck. Also go to Meyer site and download the install instructions so you have a good idea if any parts for the mount are missing. Meyer mounts can be very salty.

5. mpriester

mpriester Senior Member