Snow Plowing Forum banner

Meyer 8.5' plow on diesel

2K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  jkski 
#1 ·
I am new to snow plowing so I have been reading Alot! But thought i would see if anyone has the same exact setup.

I have a 2005 chevy 2500 diesel. I have bought a used meyers 8.5' plow. (bigger than I wanted but too good of a buy to pass) From what i understand its a bit big and heavy for my suspension but I'm willing to make whatever changes necessary. I'm also considering giving the whole truck a 2-3" lift anyway. I have read about timbrens, lift kits etc. I was just wondering if someone has a similar setup that might want to share their good or bad experience with a suspensin aleration. I'm in Nashville so we don't have snow but 3 months out of the year so I am trying to be really particular and find something that will still look right and ride Good when the plow isn't attached.

Thanks for any advice or stories!

#2 ·
Timberen on the front and mount it it only aprox 20=30 lbs heavy compared to what plow is recommended for your truck and the area you live in annual snow fall wouldn't stop me I have timberen on mine and it firmed the ride up a little but handles the plow great!
You may want to ballast the back with a little weight other than that I go with it!

#3 ·
Michaelzz28;1340789 said:
Timberen on the front and mount it it only aprox 20=30 lbs heavy compared to what plow is recommended for your truck and the area you live in annual snow fall wouldn't stop me I have timberen on mine and it firmed the ride up a little but handles the plow great!
You may want to ballast the back with a little weight other than that I go with it!