1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

meyer 7.5' plow not making full contact

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by SportyCS, Mar 28, 2004.

1. SportyCS

SportyCS Junior Member

hey guys i am pretty new to plowing and i ran into some troubles with my plow. I have a 97 chevy ck1500 with a 4 inch lift and the meyer ez mount with the e47 pump and a st90 plow. When i angle the blade all the way to one side, the blade doesn't make full contact with the ground. Like the opposite side of the blade stays like 2-3 inches off the ground. If you guys know how to fix this please let me know. thanks guys have a good day.
  2. SnoForce

SnoForce Junior Member

Your lift kit is most likely causing this. You will need to lower the snow plow frame mount. If I remember correctly the plow mount pivot point should be around 11" off the ground. I had to do the same thing on my lifted Chevy
  3. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

Look for bent bolts on the plow and truck side mount, someone may have used a lower grade bolts then it calls for. The pivot pins for the mold board may be broke,bent ,seized or the mount is cracked or bent. Make sure the truck side is level low and up against the frame where it mounts to truck frame. Put a jack under the lower part of truck mount and see if the mount moves when you jack it a little. The truck side bolts to frame may be loose too. I had the same problem, add the weight of the plow and the mount would sag down. Take the weight away and the mount would be back against the frame. Is the cutting edge worn uneven? Someone may have corrected the problem it did have and did not replaced the cutting edge.
  4. SportyCS

SportyCS Junior Member