1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Maybe an oldie, but.........

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Switchless, Feb 15, 2006.

1. Switchless

Switchless Member
    from NJ

I'm still rather new to plowing, but my 20 year plowing friend and I disagree on double plowing or one time plowing residential accounts.
    He keeps insisting on bigger storms, that can still be easily down in one shot, that doing them twice is the ticket. Of course, price wise you still should make your money.
    I just can't see it. First, you must drive the whole route twice. And second, you usually do only about 20% more pushing, which save 80% on the trans, running gear, tires and gas.
    Most of us are all runing 250's or bigger, so I sure don't see any particular extra strain put on the trans. In fact, towing my 18 ft. enclosed trailer taxes the trans a ton more than plowing.
    Anyone else having a different opinion.
  2. Joe D

Joe D Senior Member

There is no one answer, snow fall amounts, time of day, what day, snow type wet or dry and your contract.
    If you can wait then I would but if it's snowing for 24hrs you need to make a pass or 2 to keep things open
  3. Switchless

Switchless Member
    from NJ

Yup, I and "can see", doing a first 10" will let some people get to work with their SUV's, while waiting for 16" to fall will keep everyone home.
  4. Jpocket

Jpocket Senior Member

Multiple Pushes is where I make my Money. I'd rather do 3 Pushes 4inches each for $120, than One big one for $275
  5. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 PlowSite Fanatic

I do everything on contract, so every 4" it's kept open as long as I can get to it..............
  6. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic