1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Mattracks

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by basheroffroad, Dec 26, 2004.

1. basheroffroad

basheroffroad Junior Member

I'm just getting into plowing and I was wondering if anyone is running Mattracks on a plow truck and how well they perform. I am looking into getting a set for my rig and would like some info on their performance before I make a financial commitment of of this size. anyone not familiar with Mattracks can check out their website at www.mattracks.com
    any ideas or info would be appreciated.

2. hillmin

hillmin Junior Member

You might want to give the board an example of just where you will be plowing. In my 20+years experience plowing, I've never seen anyone using them to plow commercially.

3. Crumm

Crumm Senior Member

When plowing you need to be able to maneuver around alot. All the vehicles I have seen with mattracks will go anywhere but don't turn like ones with tires. Unless you are doing some serious plowing of some fierce terrain I cannot imagine you needing tracks.

4. streetsurfin'

streetsurfin' Senior Member

What about getting to and from jobs? They aren't legal on the roads are they?

5. biggtruck

biggtruck Junior Member

Dude!!!! Those things are like $$15,000 or something. Crazy $$$$$

6. itsgottobegreen

itsgottobegreen PlowSite.com Addict

I remember seen a guy somewhere in WV with a set on a Chevy 3500. He said he had some gravel roads and driveways he plowed that were straight up according to him. He had a 8' fisher and V box spreader on it. He did stay he burns up a power steering pump every year.

7. basheroffroad

basheroffroad Junior Member

thanks