1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

magnetic light placement

Discussion in 'Jeeps' started by tasbm5, Oct 8, 2008.

1. tasbm5

tasbm5 Member
    from canada

Hey guys new here great place to show me how much i don't know. i'm also new to the the plow thing and jeep thing any way my question is where do you guys that don't use the off road light bars mout your amber light ? I should mention i have a magnetic light.

thanks terry

2. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA

I glued a metal plate on the roof of my Jeep. The light kept getting knocked off by branches and denting the door when it swings by the power cord. Then I used the bolt for the magnet on the light through the belt on a ratchet tie down strap. working fine for 15 years.

3. hillbillydeluxe

hillbillydeluxe Senior Member

Mine is mounted (magnetic) on a flat cover off of an electrical box (Home Depot). Although my cover is mounted to our light bar, you can use the cover with the electrical box. Then you can mount a conduit connector to the box, then a piece of conduit. Now you have a pole, with a metal box that has a flat plate for your flasher. I would suggest looking into a CB antennae mount. You can get them for mounting on the bumper, behind the taillight, ect..........you'll have to check um out to see which one will work. Will certainly need to be adapted to the conduit pole.
    Or.....................just do as Plowmeister does, use a strap........done.
    Good luck,

4. MikeRi24

MikeRi24 Senior Member