1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Magic Salt

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Tuscany, Nov 17, 2009.

1. Tuscany

Tuscany Junior Member

Hey guys. I'm in Massachusetts. I need help. Has anyone used magic salt? It's a treated salt that can be damp and wet. I have been using it for about 4 years now with the walk behind spreaders, but the site is growing and I would like to get a sander. I would like to use a fisher tail gate spreader to spread it. The Fisher salesman told me to post a question here. Will the Fisher tail gate spreader work or would it be useless. Any other recommendation on a sander/salt spreader works best with magic salt? What about the new Fisher poly electric sander? I have a GMC 2500 HD (6 foot bed) and a Ford F350 Super Duty pick up (short bed) and an F550 diesel dump truck. I would like to keep the dump truck free this winter, but have a Lull with forks to remove the sander if necessary. Any recommendations?

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

I've been making and using Magic Salt for about seven years. Never used it in a sander, but I think you'd be good with a 2-stage tailgate. Little too "wet" for a 1-stage.

3. jt5019

jt5019 Senior Member

As long as its a 2 stage tailgate spreader(the fisher one has a small belt on the bottom of it) it should work fine.

4. NEUSWEDE

NEUSWEDE Senior Member

are you making the same thing or similiar product? Do you buy their product and mix yourself? You sell it or just for your own use?