1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Magic salt too wet

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by emeraldgreen, Jan 20, 2005.

1. emeraldgreen

emeraldgreen Member

Since this is my first time using Magic Salt, I don't know if my experience is normal. When I dumped my bags into the tailgate spreader, I noticed the salt was very wet, and got concerned. As I suspected, it wouldn't flow through my spreader. Is this a common issue with bagged Magic Salt, or are my bags out of the ordinary?
    I am now mixing it 1:1 with regular Rock Salt, and it flows just fine.
    Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Bob

2. chris k

chris k Senior Member

First what type of spreader are you using? Second, when you purchased the Magic were thae bags indoors or out in the open?

3. emeraldgreen

emeraldgreen Member

I'm using a Lesco 600lb capacity spreader, with an auger but no vibrator. The salt was stored under a roof, but not completely enclosed in front.

4. avalancheplow

avalancheplow Senior Member

i have the same problem and all that is needed is a vibrator kit, it is because of the poly spreader, my magic dealer said i would most likely need one, but said if i were to use a steel vbox that it would run fine. i mix 2-50 lbs bags of magic and 1-80 lbs bag of rock salt and it doesn't clog up.

5. chris k

chris k Senior Member

The only time I have had a problem with Magic freezing up is if the product gets wet in the bag like through a small hole or something. Also if it sit in the spreader after a strom and it get real cold. I also use the bareground and have the same thing happen.