1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Magic Salt Storage?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by knpc, Nov 16, 2014.

1. knpc

knpc Senior Member
    from MA

Hi, I have a question about Magic Salt (Ice-B-Gone).
    I go through about 75-100 50lb bags of ice melt per season as I only do 23 driveways and one commercial lot. I have been buying bags from landscape supply places and big box stores for the last ten years. I know I'm paying a premium by buying by the bag and taking away potential profit.

My thought was that this year I would just build a 4'x4'x4' box on top of a pallet to fill with bulk ice melt. I'm a carpenter, so building a box strong enough is no problem. And I have a 6'x10' dump trailer, so I could put the crate in there, have them fill it at the yard, and slide it out into my building.

This would wind up costing me about $3.50 per 50lbs. instead of $14.00 per 50lbs. for Ice-B-Gone.

My Question is, will it sore well in an enclosed building for the season? I've never used magic salt so I wasn't sure if the coating on the salt lasts and is effective after storing it for 3-4 months. I'll probably only have to refill the crate once during the season.

Thank You

2. SaratogaSnowPro

SaratogaSnowPro Junior Member

Why don't you ask the Ice B Gone Magic dealer you purchased it from? I am sure they could walk you thru the best ways to set it up... www.ibgmagic.com

3. knpc

knpc Senior Member
    from MA

I haven't purchased it yet, I thought I would run it by the guys on here to see what your thoughts are. I didn't ask when I was on the phone with him, but I'll call the Magic Salt dealer I spoke with the other day and ask about storage.