1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Loud plow

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by checkm09, Feb 2, 2013.

1. checkm09

checkm09 Junior Member

Hey guys I am new to the industry this year and I have posted on here a few times. So far I love it! And thanks for all your helpful advice!
    So the first 3 plows we had in mn were pretty wet and I wasn't scraping on straight concrete, but last night we got 2" and it was straight concrete below. I have a boss v plow with a backdrag bar and it is sooooooo fricken loud back dragging and pushing. I don't wear any shoes on my plow so I can get down closer would that make it quoter ? Seriously it could wake up the whole neighborhood. Any tips would help thanks !

2. Antlerart06

Antlerart06 PlowSite Veteran

Put shoes on to carry the plow off the concrete about 1/4'' then Just salt heavy
    Or you could install a rubber cutting edge

3. leolkfrm

leolkfrm PlowSite.com Addict

it lets people know that it snowed to get up early for work!

4. KGRlandscapeing

KGRlandscapeing 2000 Club Member

Hands down boss is the loudest plow dropping and cutting edges. So its just something you live with you wanted a fast plow that wont break down much thats ur trade off.

5. yardguy28

yardguy28 Senior Member

hmm I don't know if I'd say boss is the loudest plow.

personally I've never owned anything but a boss blade but I don't find them very noisy at all. just a thump when dropped and back dragging does create a little noise but nothing you can from inside a home.

6. KGRlandscapeing

KGRlandscapeing 2000 Club Member