1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

loosing summer customers

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Heavy, Apr 9, 2002.

1. Heavy

Heavy Junior Member

Hey fella's, I'm new at this game but I think I have to start to do something. I lost 3 summer contracts because i didn't plow. I'm 18 years old and still in high school, I'll be out of school for next winter. I'm hearing from diferent people different things, like you can't make money doing residential places, i could go on contract tomorow and be garanteed 100 hrs work for next winter but I'm just not sure. I also heard DON"T buy a plow truck in the spring because their getting rid of it for a reason. I'd appreciate any advise anybody can spare. Thanks
  2. Alan

Alan PlowSite.com Addict

I hear a lot of whining about how there is no money in plowing residentials. I must be missing something because I think they generate a better hourly return than commercials do. About the only way to get into plowing is to start with residentials, learn what you can produce, figure out if you REALLY want to be in the business and then move into commercials with some experience behind you.

There's a few qustions you need to face first.

Do you mind not having any holidays that you can count on? From November through March you're married to your route. No way around it, if you make the comittment to your customers they expect you to be there, whether it's Christmas, your girlfriend's birthday, etc.

Are you comfortable with driving in the absolute worst conditions you can find?