1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking to put a 7.5' unimount on a 2004 F-250

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by let it snow!, Nov 1, 2011.

1. let it snow!

let it snow! Junior Member

I'm new to plowing and I am looking to put a plow on my 2004 f-250 super cab long bed diesel. I am looking at a used unimount (about an 03) of a 2003 F-250 that is complete with truck side mount, controller and wiring harness. Is there any difference in the mount for a 2003 to a 2004? How hard would this be to install myself? Also, is a 7.5' big enough?
    Thanks

2. DodgerFan

DodgerFan Senior Member

Not positive about the mount but they should be the same. IMO 7.5 is to small unless your doing driveways.

3. Lbilawncare

Lbilawncare Senior Member

Go bigger !!!

4. got-h2o

got-h2o 2000 Club Member

Install isn't bad. You have to remove the front bumper, but other than that it goes ok. Be sure to assemble everything before you tighten anything up.

As for a 7'6, yes, it is a bit small. 8' or bigger would be best, 7'6 will work ok though.

5. ppandr

ppandr Senior Member

7'6" is like kissin' your sister

6. Pinky Demon

Pinky Demon PlowSite.com Addict
    from Ohio

My truck is a similar size to yours and a 7', 6" is waaaaaay too small for that truck. Go bigger my friend, 8 ft. as a minimum.

You'll have problems pushing windrows as the blade won't stick out far enough from the side of your truck and your tires will start spinning as the snow falls into your path. Not to mention turning with your plow at an angle.