1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking to purchase sand/salt spreader...help.

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by taxreliever, Jan 7, 2014.

1. taxreliever

taxreliever Member

I have an 86 3/4 Chevy pick up that has an older Fisher 7.5 ft plow that I've been plowing my yard and my neighbors yard for the past 5 years now.

The last couple years, I haven't been able to find anyone reliable enough to sand my paved yard/parking lot (about 15k square feet) when I need it and my wife and I have had enough and have decided to try to take care of that on our own.

Where we have all pavement, I wouldn't mind spending the extra money to be able to keep pavement all year as I run my practice on this property and there are 2 other businesses here also.

I've only just recently started looking and was thinking about these for purchase if I just did salt only:

http://www.amazon.com/Meyer-Tailgat...1389055862&sr=1-37&keywords=tailgate+spreader

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_588_588

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200136324_200136324

There's not much decent or within our price range ($1000-$1500) locally...I've just quickly looked at the local ads and craigslist.

Also, not sure if I need a sander if I'm able to maintain pavement with salt somehow....need help with that also.

Thanks for any help!

2. SnowGuy73

SnowGuy73 PlowSite Fanatic

Get a Meyer, or the Snowex that is sold at home depot.

Stay away from the northern tool garbage.

3. taxreliever

taxreliever Member

4. taxreliever

taxreliever Member

5. Whiffyspark

Whiffyspark 2000 Club Member
    from SOMD

Tgs 07. I think 06 will do sand too but not sure
    07 has auger and vibrator