1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking to get a plow.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by akslinger, Dec 23, 2005.

1. akslinger

akslinger Junior Member

I've been mulling over getting a plow for my tuck. I really wanna do this on the side. I am a mortgage broker during the day and winters are always slow. My truck is paid for so I thought buying a plow over 3 years won't kill me. I went to all our local plow locations, weingartz was the only one that had them. They told me about 4500 for a flat Boss plow, installed. I don't know the model number as of yet, I'll be getting into that Monday.

I may get a business going, but I don't really wanna do contracts as I dont want it to interfere with my day job. I plan on doing this before and after work. I got a 91 GMC 2500 4x4 Excab. I just had a new tranny installed and replaced the tranny cooler. Other than that, it's a stock truck. I do have BFG all terrains on it.

Am I missing anything else?
  2. johntwist

johntwist Senior Member

Just make sure you think carefully about balancing your customers and your full time job.

I also do it on the side and I can tell you straight out that you cannot compete with guys who are available to plow all the time. That means you are basically out of luck with commercial customers. Anyone with a business usually sets a pretty low trigger, 1 or 2 inches, because they don't want their customers slipping and falling. They want you there when the white stuff flies, not after you get out of work.