1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking to Expand

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by D&E, Dec 28, 2010.

1. D&E

D&E Senior Member

This is my first year plowing commercially. I've got a handful of my own accounts, and I do a little bit of sub work also. I'm sure this is nothing new, but how do you guys expand your business? How do you gain more customers? I know it's probably too late in the season to pick up any decent number of accounts, but I'm just looking toward the future.

I've tried fliers, Craigslist, and I've gotten my name out there with quite a few other guys in the industry, but things are just a little slow. I'm not willing to lowball and run prices that won't sustain operations.

Do you advertise online? Newspapers?

What do you guys suggest?

2. Jewell1386

Jewell1386 Senior Member

find places close to what you already have, and start by just stopping in and offer to give them a free bid for the job. I have also given names of other places I plow as a reference

3. cf1128

cf1128 Member
    from NH

QUALITY.
    IF YOU BUILD IT, THEY WILL COME.
    Seriously, do a killer job, take pride in what you do and forget this year, you are 7 months behind.
    Decide what you want to grow, commercial or residential.
    Press the flesh this summer.
    Make sure your insurance and equipment can handle your sales skills.
    I suggest you do what you say you will and over deliver. Easier said than done.
    Be careful what you wish for, if you do grow and cannot do what you promised, someone just like you will be there to take up the slack.
    Be honest, take pride in what you do.
    Tell your wife and kids you will see them in May.

4. dubya