1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

looking for some pointers

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by datank450, Dec 25, 2013.

1. datank450

datank450 Senior Member

This is my first year ever at this. I installed a Meyers plow on a F450, now im lost, don't know what I should do. I went out plowing the other day for the first time, ended up getting a commercial contract, didn't know what I was doing but I think I did a good job negotiating the contract and I went as far as to make the property representative sign a disclaimer. from what I read, you absolutely have to cover your ass. But anyway, Im on the hunt for jobs and I came across a company looking to sub me out for snow removal. It seem like in their contract I would be obligated to be ready to move on their jobs when it snows. Am I jumping the gun on trying to find work? Not to mention I would not get paid till 30 days after invoice. Am I gonna be able to find work when it snows, will it be effective to travel to big snowstorms to make money in dig outs??? Should I stay in my town, sub myself out, or travel around? I just paid for some internet ads and don't really know if that will pull anything in till it starts snowing. any kind of advice would help. I am also licensed, insured and incorporated so Im ready for business.

2. White Gardens

White Gardens 2000 Club Member

Wow.....

I've always got plan B,C, and D in place in case of extreme circumstances before taking on any accounts.

Good Luck.....

3. datank450

datank450 Senior Member

I hear you on that, Im trying to get a plan together. Its a per push contract paid in advance. whats a good thing to do other than taking on accounts?

4. White Gardens