1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for some advice on tractors

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by omalley, Mar 23, 2009.

1. omalley

omalley Junior Member

Hey everyone,

I have been plowing for the last 6 years as a sub for a few different companies. They have all had trucks and skidsteers as there plowing equipment. I feel that a tractor or similar equipment would be a better way to plow resi's. I started looking at the Toolcat but have now started looking at tractors. I think the best plan is to have a tractor with a inverted blower and a FEL. Here is my problems that I am coming across right now. I do not want a machine that is too big for resi work as this is going to be the main part of my business but not to small for some smaller commercial work that I can pick up also.

I am open to different suggestions. I have done a lot of reading different tractors and JD and Kubotas just not sure which model is the one that would fill my needs.

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks

Omalley

2. keitha

keitha Senior Member

Several members here are running tractors, look around.
    What kind of dealer support do you have? New or used?
    Any "laws" in your area about running tractors on the road?( Commercial vs Ag)
    They have there place if you are set up for it. (not a lot of traveling between jobs)
    Good luck
    Keith

3. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

Kubota and JD both have tractors that will suit your needs. If your worried about price Kubota will be cheaper and I'd look at a 95x or a 108x, I'm sure Neige will chime in because he is the residential tractor man. If your looking at JD's anything in the 6000 series will be a good fit also.

4. omalley