1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for plowing technique info

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Clint, Sep 3, 2007.

1. Clint

Clint Member

Newbie here never used a plow before, is there any information on this site that would
    give me some info on plowing techniques etc? I'm especially looking for info on
    plowing large piles of snow/slush left at the ends of a driveway by State plows.
    How to attack this pile coming out of my driveway from a upward hill angle?

Clint

2. RipT

RipT Senior Member

Clint, In most places they do not like people plowing snow out onto a public road from a driveway.....in many places it is illegal. That said, if the road in question is very lightly traveled, pushing one blade-full completely across the roadway may not cause problems.

One then would get turned around and plow back into the drive and push the snow off to one side and/or the other. Every situation is somewhat different, and in some cases your only option may be to exit the drive without pushing any snow, turn around and plow in from the roadway and off to the sides.