1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking For Minute Mount Tips

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Jim00, Feb 13, 2002.

1. Jim00

Jim00 Junior Member
    from Maine

Hi All,

I'm new to plowing and new to this site. Tried the search thing with no luck on what I'm looking for. I have a '94 Chevy Silverado 2500 4x4 Ext Cab with brand new 350 engine.

Had a Minute Mount plow installed recently, and haven't quite got the hang of how to put it on and take it of easily. I use a small 2-ton jack to take enough strain off the pins to slide them out when taking the plow off ... and use the jack again when putting the plow back on.

I realize the plow isn't named for how long it takes to put it on but I think it ought to be a little easier than that.

Also ... does it matter what type of grease I use on the quick-connect electrical plug?

Thanks in advance.

--Jim

Maine - The Way Life Should Be!

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Hi, Jim. Welcome to PlowSite. A couple questions - Are you pushing the "triangle" down before you disconnect the pins? Then is there plenty of slack in the chain? I use a small crowbar or a piece of 1" board to force the pins out and let the plow adjust height to the jackstand. The slack in the chain will then be enough so I can push up and the pins will snap into place when I hook up.

Do you have the owner manual?

Can't really tell you on the grease.

3. JD PLOWER

JD PLOWER PlowSite.com Veteran

Try dielectric grease, available at most auto stores.