1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for ideas...

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by kcolagio, Oct 12, 2004.

1. kcolagio

kcolagio Junior Member

I'm looking at doing plowing this winter for some extra money. As such, I'm not looking to invest a lot, not looking for big jobs, and basically targeting the driveway market.

Since I'm completely new to this, I'm looking for some ideas on what type of equipment I should look toward (I'm thinking small and cheap...), what to watch out for, input on whether to get seasonal contracts or per-visit agreements, and how much to charge.

I'm located in the Rochester, New York area. Snow fall averages about 92 inches per year (as per a website I found).

Also, how many residential customers can I reasonably expect to be able to handle?

Thanks in advance for any and all input.

Kevin, newbie at plowing.

2. The Boss

The Boss 2000 Club Member

Welcome to plowsite!! :waving:
    First question is do you have a full time job? The reason I ask is if you do, can you get away from work to plow? As far as equipment, the 2 basic things you need is a truck and plow. Do you people wanting snow removal? Do you have an hourly rate in mind? As far as how many accounts you can handle, the depends how big and close they are to each other. Some people have alot and some only have a few.

3. kcolagio

kcolagio Junior Member

I do have a full time job, which is from 3pm to 12am...so I planned on being able to plow in the mornings, and then for my regular clients, visit them before going into work (so the drives would be clear at 5:30 to 6 when they get home).