1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by stan3ley, Feb 5, 2015.

1. stan3ley

stan3ley Junior Member
    from Mi.

Hi guys,
    I am not a newbie to plowing, been doing it in different capacity's for over35 years.
    I have a problem, I bought a Western UniMount that was pretty beat up.
    I am having problems with the pump system. I had a mount installed and the truck side wired by a installer. I plugged in my first joy stick and burned up the circuit board. The motor was rusted and completely seized. Inside the housing I could see water. Took it completely apart, pumped out the rams bought new lines took out the pump and the solenoids. I took out the cartridges and cleaned and inspected them. The screen was clogged and had ripped open. I took the pump and ran it in a can of new oil to pump out any remaining crud. The solenoids where in spec for ohms. put them back together an cycled them in clean with 12 Volts to check operation and clean them, all was fine. Put it all back together and bought another joystick.