1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for Guidance

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by wildbl1500, Nov 23, 2009.

1. wildbl1500

wildbl1500 Senior Member

I haven't really been able to find the info I am looking for to help me make a decision.

I have been plowing family & friend's driveways for the last 9 years or so. I have been considering making it an "official" business. I don't have any insurance other than full coverage on my truck. My wife asked someone in the insurance division at her work about "if" i was to plow for money how much would the insurance cost- she got a very unprofessional answer of "oh its expensive" and that I would have to get commercial plates on my truck. I have talked with a friend of mine and he said there are some additional regulations if you have commercial plates- such as you need a fire extinguisher and you can't have any alcohol in the vehicle (i am not a big drinker, but we take the truck on camping and snowmobiling trips). So, I am at a crossroads.

On one hand I would like to do everything right- become a business, have commercial plates on the truck, claim my plowing income, and have insurance to cover anything that may happen.

On the other hand, I have 3 or 4 paying customers (plus a couple family members) to do every season (making less than a grand per season), a solid plow setup, and no money going out for expensive insurance.

I want to get more customers over the next few years, buy a spreader and grow this moonlighting business. The two questions are do I roll the dice and not worry about the insurance and taxes until I actually make some real money or do I get insurance and cut into my minimal profit?