1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

looking for advice

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by mc1, Nov 22, 2008.

1. mc1

mc1 Senior Member

i have been subbing for a freind of mine for 3 years now. i have known him since we were kids, he gives some work during the warmer monthes. the problem is he never tells me what my route will be until it snows nor does he give me a dollar amount until halfway thru the season for the prepay work, there is some per trip plows but minimal $ last year i was running salt for him and did very well. well this year i had asked him how everything was shaping up and he said good plenty of work. i then told him also that i had 2 contracts:angry lined up for about 9 grand and only 1.5 -2 hours per event. he told me dont bother with that i have salt work and plenty of plowing. so a week later after i let those contracts go. he tells me his salt got cut so he will do the night runs and i will take days. then he tells me that my pre pay plowing got cut so i will take a hit there as well. my gut tells me to tell him to go screw but my wife and 6 month old son tell me to stay to at least pay the mortgage. im probably rambling but any advice would be appreciated :realmad:
  2. TPC Services

TPC Services Senior Member

How long a go did you let lose of those clients you had line up and if it's not a that long ago I would call them back and see if they had made a dicession yet on a contractor for the season and that you would like to do it and tell them what had a happen must we then fell sorry for you and may give you the contract then!!
  3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine