1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by mayorquiambe, Oct 28, 2005.

1. mayorquiambe

mayorquiambe Junior Member

:waving: I’m new to snow removal and lawn maintenance. I’ve been working in corporate America for the past 6 years and am just burnt out by it. I used to work in construction, but thought that a desk job was the way to go, boy was I wrong. Too much bull@#$! to deal with. I’m looking at getting at into snow removal this season and lawn maintenance in the summer. I’m a little green with it though.
    I’ve read through many posts and have to admit that you guys know your stuff. These forums have really motivated me to pursue the start of my own company. Of’couse as a newbie I have many questions and would love if you guy’s could lend me some of your expertise.
    I’m looking at buying a used 1994 Ford F250 4x4 Super Duty Super Cab diesel truck with 252,000 miles on it. It has a manual Trans with a Boss V-power plow. I plan on having everything checked out on the truck before I buy and not paying more than what its worth. Does this seem like a good starter truck? Keep in mind I don’t have a lot of money to spend. I would like to buy something new but the cost is too much, as I would like to purchase a backup truck sometime this winter.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Welcome to PlowSite, mayorquiambe. While I'd say for a diesel, there's a lot of life left in that truck, I'd be concerned with the suspension and drive train. You may not spend as much front for the truck, but repairs could quickly offset any saving there.