1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for a new salter/sander. Any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Krasy Joe, Mar 16, 2010.

1. Krasy Joe

Krasy Joe Junior Member

Im new to this industry and am looking to replace the old modified hopper fertilizer spreader, that came with the business, with a new V-Box. I have been looking at the different ones that are available and keep going back to the Tornado.

- Does anyone have any feedback about the different V-Box salters?
    - Are there any that dont jam up as bad as others?
    - Is there a counter to keep track of how much salt/sand you use at any particular job site?

btw...it will be going on a GMC 3500 with beefed up springs.
  2. Kubota 8540

Kubota 8540 PlowSite.com Addict

I have owned 3 V boxes over the past 20 years. 2 Western 8 footers and 1 Flink 8 foot. I had excellent luck with them. The best was a Western 8 foot with the Briggs and Stratton 10hp I/C engine. Time and experience will teach you to be able to tell how much you use per job. If I were to purchase another V box, it would be a Western Icebreaker 8 foot.
  3. Tbrothers

Tbrothers Senior Member

We have couple guys who come down each year and calibrate there spreaders. I load them up and they pull on the scale get there weight, then back up to the salt pile and time how long it takes to unload.They seem to have it down to about 115lbs/min with bulk rock salt.
  4. snowguys

snowguys Senior Member