1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for a New Salt Spreader

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by tazzplow1, Jun 15, 2011.

1. tazzplow1

tazzplow1 Junior Member

Hi,
    I am in the market to buy a V-Box Spreader this year. Not too sure of which one to go with either a Screw-Type Auger or a Conveyor style. I know which ever one it would be electric driven and poly. Also will be able to hold at least 2yds Any suggestion would be great.raimolandscaping@verion.net

2. wizardsr

wizardsr PlowSite.com Addict

3. Wayne Volz

Wayne Volz Senior Member

Think SnowEx

Take a look at the SnowEx spreaders. I have been using them for many years now and they simply work. We run several models and the auger feed system will save you time, material and MONEY! The model 8500 is a two yard container and is a great unit.

Check them out and feel free to contact me for my personal experience with the SnowEx line. We have used many different spreaders since 1979 and SnowEx is by far made us the most money. Honest!

4. SnowGuy

SnowGuy Senior Member
    from NW Ohio

We bought 2 new Salt Dogg Poly V Box spreaders last year and absolutely love them, no problems and at the end of the season they looked like new !

5. millsaps118

millsaps118 Senior Member

If you consider electric & stainless, Wiz has a sweet airflow. Either way, electric is the way to go imo.

6. iceman1

iceman1 Sponsor

only draw back to electric is the flow rate is low. But if you are only using a few tons per application electric will work just fine. Gas can be a pain but if you have good people operation your equipment and they understand calibrating is all in the gas pedel nothing is faster.

7. Brian Young