1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

local gov't

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Precision Lawn, Nov 4, 2007.

1. Precision Lawn

Precision Lawn Senior Member

Has anyone work for their local gov't doing snow removal

2. fortywinks

fortywinks Member
    from NE OH

municipal...equals cheap

I am new to plowing and just bid a local municipal contract(seasonal). Spent time calculating what it would cost to make sure the job gets done right, hire sub-contractors and still make some money. I was the only bidder and was told I was way too high. They are probably going to re-bid or just gamble and wait. They fail to see that last years bidder, (only one last year too) didn't bid because he couldn't possibly have made any money he was so low. They want the contractor to risk that there won't be any snow and still get paid. That's their enticement to try and get something for next to nothing. I am preparing for other jobs.

3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

That's why I don't go for municipal work - it's way too cheap. Another consideration is that you will need additional insurance - Municipal. The local contractor here asked me to work for him a few years ago - $15/hr. He'd gotten it at $50/hr "to the town". He got underbid last winter. The last time I was asked by a town contractor, I just told him "You can't afford me." Really p---ed him off, but I don't get asked any more.

4. salopez

salopez Senior Member

I was really thinking about working for SHA in Howard county...but it just wasnt worth it. They were offering about 30 less then I get on my comercial accounts, and not standby. Plus less hours.