1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Liquids on driveways?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Patrick34, Dec 31, 2009.

1. Patrick34

Patrick34 Member

Anyone use liquids on driveways? I am thinking of trying a liquid truck mounted sprayer for my condo driveways (i.e. backing a truck into each driveway and spraying the driveway).

Anyone try this? I am a newbie to liquids. Can anyone comment on what depth accumulation liquids can melt off? Thanks for any comments.
  2. Kubota 8540

Kubota 8540 PlowSite.com Addict

I have tried 2 liquids. Cheap and cheaper. 32% Liquid calcium chloride (liquidow) and 23% salt brine. Both drives were my own. 1 concrete and 1 gravel. At -7 degrees the lcc burned off 3/4-1" of fluff snow on the concrete, and at the same rate didn't work as well on the gravel. Applied the salt brine prior to the snow event and it also burned off an inch of falling snow as it snowed. I suspect both liquids would have melted slightly more snow, but I can't say for sure? Those 2 liquids have earned a place in my tool box. Have my doubts about a lot of liquids that cost the same as salt or above? I have sprayed all my commercial accounts. I currently have a sample of Iceban that I hope to get to test in the near future and will post the results of that test.
  3. Lightningllc

Lightningllc 2000 Club Member

Hows liquidow working for you I want to try it how much you paying a gallon. SAlt brine are you making it?
  4. Kubota 8540

The liquidow has been incredible and versatile. Just got my new quote,
    2000 gal min = $0.75/gal 4,000 gal min = $0.63/gal