1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Liquid ice-melt do's and dont's

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by cseutah, Dec 4, 2009.

1. cseutah

cseutah Member
    from Utah

I have been plowing snow for 10 years now and have always used granular ice-melter. well this year we decided to add liquid to our line up and last night i went with some of my guys and sprayed a few malls that we have. i think i used too much material it was rather slick when we where done but i figured by morning it would be ok. well in the morning the north sides where still slick, and the rest of the property seemed to be better. again in the afternoon we checked with the same results. i had one of my supervisors check tonight and the north sides are still wet and kind of slick.
    I guess my question is this normal?
    Am i putting it down to thick? I used a 50 gal per lane mile 1.25 acre rate.
    do you want it to mist or more of a direct stream?
    we are using Freezgard + CI it's a Magnesium Chloride-Hexahydrate.
    any input would be awesome if you prefer not to post your can call me on my cell 435-994-0003. thanks, Marty
  2. Mike S

Mike S PlowSite.com Addict

I would play with your rate a little to see thats it. Sounds like some thick stuff! LOL!
  3. Vaughn Schultz

Vaughn Schultz PlowSite.com Addict

Call me, 630-851-8829
  4. deicepro

deicepro PlowSite.com Addict

Are you saying that you are mixing your own liquid?
  5. cseutah

cseutah Member
    from Utah

no we are buying it from north american salt out of utah. weve looked into magic and the chloride guy. if we dont get better results well have to change, but i have a whole tanker.
  6. cseutah

cseutah Member
    from Utah