1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Liquid de-icer pricing input?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by hickslawns, Nov 30, 2005.

1. hickslawns

hickslawns Senior Member

Anyone willing to help out a guy getting into liquid? I have done my homework. I am ready to buy or build my setup. I think I am going with Caliber M1000. Where i am a little uneasy is my pricing. I was thinking like a $40-50 trip charge, and $6 per gallon applied. Does this seem in the ballpark? Am I too low per gallon or too high? Would appreciate the input, as I am new to applying liquid and don't want to fall on my face. Thanks. Phil

2. szorno

szorno Senior Member

I think you have to be careful here. You can overprice easily. Figure out how much it costs you per gallon to spread the Caliber. (Take total sq ft you plan on doing, divide by 1000 to get the gallons. Then figure the fuel cost to spread, and divide it by the gallons so you have a fuel cost per gallon.) Add the cost of the Caliber per gallon. Now you have a raw cost per gallon to get it delivered to the pavement. (not including other truck expenses)
    Then look at how much per gallon you want to make. I usually figure $1.00 to $1.50 per gallon delivered. (comes to $150 to $200 per hour profit depending on spray rig) Then price each account by the gallon. Round off the $$ for easier understanding by the customer.
    Hope this helps.

3. hickslawns

hickslawns Senior Member

szorno- So if I am reading this correct, you are saying $1.00-1.50 per gallon profit? Cost of the liquid is $1.55 if I drive over an hour to pick it up. I am not ready to invest in storage units to handle an entire tanker truck load delivered.