1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Light Bar

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Time Cutters, Oct 27, 2003.

1. Time Cutters

Time Cutters Junior Member

This is my first year in the snow plowing business and I do not know exactly what the law is in Minnesota for light bars. If anyone could help me out that would be great. What is a good one to buy? And where could I find it?

Thanks Adam

2. cat320

cat320 2000 Club Member

I can't tell you about the laws but amber is leagal in most places .I have whelen 8strobe light bar and it is pretty good there are some many bars you can get big/small hidaways led's .

3. Time Cutters

Time Cutters Junior Member

Thank you Very much

Adam

4. TreffertLawnWrx

TreffertLawnWrx Senior Member

adam,
    I live right over in hudson and im sure you've seen everybody with yellow (amber) lights. If you get a chance come over to the Northern Outlet in Hudson (In Plaza 94)I got a new double halogen light bar thats normally 129.oo for 50.00! they have single strobes for 20.00 I think. good deals you should check it out, Scott

5. CPSS

CPSS Senior Member

Section 169.59 Minnesota traffic Laws:

Subd. 4. Flashing warning light. Any vehicle may be
    equipped with lamps which may be used for the purpose of warning
    the operators of other vehicles of the presence of a vehicular
    traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in
    approaching, overtaking, or passing, and when so equipped may
    display such warning in addition to any other warning signals
    required by this act. The lamps used to display such warnings
    to the front shall be mounted at the same level and as widely