1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

lift kit

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by nepmgmt, Dec 11, 2005.

1. nepmgmt

nepmgmt Member

i am just starting in the business and have bin reading a lot of usful info from this site.i have read that you should adjust your suspension with a plow. i was wondering if by putting a lift kit on your truck not a crazy 6 inch lift a 2 to 4 inch lift would help with the nose of the truck siting low and with a v box spreader in the back not sagging cuz i hate the way it looks when it sags.
    if there are other things that will help with this problem could u let me know as i am new to this business. thanks james
  2. cja1987

cja1987 PlowSite.com Addict

Welcome to Plowsite:waving:

A lift kit will throw off your plows "attack angle", and would not necessarily help sagging unless you beefed it up some. With a lift kit you may even need to modify a plow mount to get the angle to be right. A lift kit is NOT a soultion to sagging. Weight in the bed (a v box like you mentioned) or just anything you can use for ballest will help you. You should look into Timbren Load boosters (google them you will get their website). This will reduce sag substancially. It would also be helpful to know what kind of truck and size plow we are talking about here.
  3. Rgory

Rgory Member

From what I have read in other posts on this site is that lift kit springs tend to be softer than other springs to help with the off-roading that they are ussually used for. If anything I would start with a set of timbrens or possibly a stiffer spring. There are lots of pros and cons to each but it is all up to how much plowing you will be doing.