1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Learning how to run a backhoe....

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by 416Cat, May 26, 2003.

1. 416Cat

416Cat Junior Member

I work for a large construction company here in Maine. I have been working here for 3 years now and am ready to ditch this laborer stuff and move up to an operator. Last Friday the guy who was running a 416 Cat on my crew quit so now there is an opening. I can run the front bucket with no problem. I have never run a hoe before. Looks like it could be easy after lots of practice. I know how to operate the wrist and extenda hoe but for the boom, dipper and bucket I am pretty much lost. Is there anything out there that might be able to help me learn. I need to convince my foreman to let me try and would like to put on a good first showing. I have heard people talking about simulators that help a lot but have yet to see one. Any help would be good. Thanks guys.

2. GeoffD

GeoffD PlowSite.com Veteran

The key to learning any machine that uses a combination of 2 levers to move one object is to keep the rpms low till you get conforable with the controlls.

The good news for you is if it one of the newer cat machines it used the same controll pattern as the cat exevators.

My advice like i said keep the rpms low and dig slowly at first to you learn the combination of what does what, and when to start curling the bucket as you raise the boom and dipper.

The bad news it takes is practice time on the machine, the more time you spend the better you get.

Geoff

3. Pelican

Pelican 2000 Club Member