1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Learned how to plow with very little power.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by D Mack, Feb 14, 2010.

1. D Mack

D Mack Member
    from L.I N.Y

I'm still new to plowing. I do some work for a friend when he gets backed up. The other night he called me to work. I got there and he told me to take it easy dont try to push too much the turbo wasn't working in the truck I was going to use. (F-450) So I learned that you don't need to force the snow with high rpm's. I learned to use the trucks weight and momentum to push with. I think this way is a lot easier on the whole truck. It is slower but next time I go out, and the truck is fixed, I will try to use less engine power than I have been and more momentum.
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

And yet some guys still haven't figured that out.
  3. deicepro

deicepro PlowSite.com Addict

Some things will never change;)
  4. Milwaukee

Milwaukee 2000 Club Member

That what I did and got 7.98 mpg by drive easy on it. Company's owner get 4 mpg with F250 it exact truck I have.

There no reason to rev 3k rpm to 6k rpm.
  5. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

I always thought it was best to get up to about 4,000 rpms, and see if you can hit 20mph in a 50 foot driveway. I guess I learned something new today, lol.
  6. JDiepstra

JDiepstra PlowSite.com Addict

Haha prob a brand new F450 with a busted turbo already.

Oh, and thanks for the newsflash.
  7. rob_cook2001

rob_cook2001 2000 Club Member

Coming from a dodge guy :laughing: That turbo will cost a lot less than a full built trans :dizzy: