1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Learned a good trick for plowing gravel

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Hobo2, Jan 3, 2014.

1. Hobo2

Hobo2 Junior Member
    from Utah

I've been plowing now for three years, and contrary to what many think here who also had their first day (I find the newbie section a bit insulting), some of us newbies are smart (as apposed to what I've heard some of the old plowing hands do here), clever, and have run all sorts of heavy equipment, which in comparison, running a plow is child's play ;). Which brings me to my discovery... sorry for the sarcasm.

See, I found this site because I do have many gravel driveways to plow, as well as asphalt and concrete, but the gravel driveways were the ones giving me the most trouble. So I came here to find a solution. I found that some guys were slitting pipe and covering over the end of their cutting bladed so as not to scrape up all of the gravel as they plowed. This sounded logical, it works but in practice its not a good fix and I found back-dragging is still better.