1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Leaking Hydraulic Lines?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by oldmankent, Feb 19, 2005.

1. oldmankent

oldmankent PlowSite.com Addict

Just replaced my hydraulic lines on the plow. Also took off all the fittings and cleaned the rust off of them. Since then, I've had a few leaks from the fittings and lines. I've hesitantly been using teflon tape to stop the leaks, although I'm afraid it might damage the pump. Do you guys use teflon or the pipe dope stuff?

2. snow warrior

snow warrior Member

I WOULD USE A PIPE DOPE W/TEFLON and im a plumber

3. Bolts Indus.

Bolts Indus. PlowSite.com Addict

Never use teflon where there is petroleum based products involved.

4. oldmankent

So what do you use Bolts?

5. Mower For Less

Mower For Less Senior Member

I think bolts meant tape, not teflon. The pipe dope with teflon that you apply as a paste should be fine because it dose not solidify. Also, I used to work in the plastic injection molding industry for 10 years, and alot of the mold shops would use a silicone sealant for the hydraulic threads (similar to a RTV sealant for automotive use).

Kevin

6. dforbes

dforbes Senior Member

They make a teflon tape just for this application. It is yellow instead of white

7. oldmankent

That is good info.

8. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

If your using hydraulic fittings and not pipe fittings then you would use NOTHING... you should never need to use a sealant on a hydraulic line (fitting).
    The hydraulic fittings are tapered or thay have a O-ring, the threads do not make a seal. If they are leaking it's because there 1. loose 2. bent .3. the o-ring is bad.

My $.02