1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

LD or RD

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by ctc5, Nov 7, 2007.

1. ctc5

ctc5 Junior Member
    from ct

I'm looking to get a 7.5 for my 06 ram 1500. Should I stick with the LD for the lighter weight? weak fornt suspension on these. The price is not that big a difference. Also I've never used a trip edge before any opinions on what is better. The cutting edge is poly on the LD better or worse than steel? Also looking at snoway and meyer any info to help me make a decision would be great. thanks for the help.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

If you're planning on any significant amount of plowing or you're planning on it lasting a long time (years), I'd recommend the RD. Like anything else, the heavy built; the longer it'll last.

3. YardMedic

YardMedic PlowSite.com Addict

Rd

You can look at the rest, but you'll end up back at Fisher. The RD is a perfect plow for the half ton trucks, and I ran them for years as did my grandfather. You won't look back once you go Fisher.

4. gmcsierra1500

gmcsierra1500 Senior Member
    from CT

RD all the way

I have a GMC sierra 1500 reg cab short bed and i run a MM2 7-1/2 RD 2 cranks on the torsion bars and a set of timbrens and the front end doesnt even sag

5. bribrius

bribrius PlowSite.com Addict

yep. yep . yep. yep. yep. yep. I AGREE. there are imitations out now but nothing like the REAL thing. if you dont like fisher at least get a western or boss.

6. ctc5

ctc5 Junior Member
    from ct