1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Large lot... trying to post google earth pics

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Mick76, Aug 18, 2009.

1. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

quite a few islands, 13 acres to plow, straight salt to be used, 10,000 sf of walkways to be cleared and cl cloride....... I'll be using a 2 yard loader with 12 or 14 pusher, a one ton truck with a 9.5 fisher extreme, and a grunt to do the walkways.... since i'm new to the larger accounts say a 6 inch storm plowing every 3 inches(average snow not wet or fluffy), how much time? and what would you charge to do it? (since most of you arnt from maine)

Thanks
    Mike

Help, can't upload goodle earth pic..... how do you do this?

Last edited: Aug 18, 2009
  2. scottL

scottL PlowSite.com Addict

You have to screen capture the google pic, save it them up load it to your post. There is no magic formula for calculating time. This comes with experience and knowledge of your resources.

I can tell you 1 grunt for the sidewalks is not enough. Consider when this person does not show, is sick or the temp is -5.

As a rule of thumb I try to figure when a property needs to be done by and then I figure how long I want to allow the lot to take. Then we back in the time calculations to help outline the needed resources. For instance 1 guy with a truck could do a whole 50 unit town home complex .... but, that would take probably 8 hours. Do you want the job done in 8 hours or 2?

3. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

Scott,