1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Lana and enviromelt?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Blink74, Dec 7, 2007.

1. Blink74

Blink74 Member

Talked today with a guy who uses only Lava and Enviromelt. He is also the local wholesaler for these products. It seems to me that given the range of effectiveness these products would be far superior to rock salt. However, why aren't more people using it? The way it was explained to me price and profit would work out be about the same as salt.

2. Blink74

Blink74 Member

3. merrimacmill

merrimacmill PlowSite.com Addict
    from MA

our supplier is trying to sell us a pallet of that enviromelt stuff. I've never used or heard of it before so we're trying out a couple of bags. It looks like it would work good. It doesn't goo up when it gets wet like calcium chloride does. And its only 11$ a bag around here. I'll write back into this post when I get to try it and let you know how it works. We might have something comming through monday here.

4. Jay brown

Jay brown PlowSite.com Addict

is that the stuff made out of corn?

5. merrimacmill

from MA

I'm not sure, I cannot remember the specific ingredients but I will check when I go into work tomorrow and will get back to you on that. I do know its a non-chloride ice melter though.

6. SnowMelt2006

SnowMelt2006 Member

Save your money.

Sodium blends with mostly sodium.

7. merrimacmill

from MA