1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Kubota - Curtis Plow Mount & Hydraulic Help

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by ranman, Dec 10, 2008.

1. ranman

ranman Junior Member

I recently bought a used 5' curtis plow to try to use with my Kubota 2630 tractor. I paid $375 for the plow and frame but it does not have any controls, just two long hydraulic hoses. I have two issues that I would like to get rigth. One is the best way to mount the thing and the other is the best way to hook up the hydraulics for the angle on the plow. I have never worked with plows or hydraulics before. I thought it would be easy but its more complicated than I thought.

First the mount - There are some tabs on the frame that are not the right width apart, but I can cut them and reweld them in the right spots so as to be able to attach them to the loader arm and tilt cylinder pin. It looks like the cylinder for the tilt will be most of the way out to attach to the tabs. Is this method OK? A dealer mentioned that I could chain it somehow and not use the tilt cylinders for mounting so that I could plug into thier hydraulic port and use the loader control. That mounting method sounds a little iffy to me, but I like using the loader control. Any suggestions or pics of possible solutions?