1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Kodiak 5500 Set Up

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Patrick34, Oct 3, 2005.

1. Patrick34

Patrick34 Member

Tonight, I am putting my deposit on a Chevy Kodiak 5500, 4x4. Trying to finalize my set up decision.

I am thinking Western 9 foot pro plus plow, central hydro's, and a western stainless steel under tailgate salt spreader.

I am new to the under tailgate spreader equipment. Is a "replacement" tailgate spreader the same as the "under tailgate" spreader?

Any suggestions.

2. chtucker

chtucker Senior Member

Yep, 9' ain't big enough. You will want at least a 10'. If you are going with central hydros, you could go with viking or flink or something else...

If you want electric over hyrdo get a 10' fisher MC or a 10' Boss.... Western doesn't make a truck specific mount for the municipal plows.
  3. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

Is a "replacement" tailgate spreader the same as the "under tailgate" spreader?

NO! A replacement spreader is in place of your tailgate. This will allow the spinner to be higher from the ground. They all have dual auger. If I try another one this will be my choice.

Try this site to see the differences. www.bonnell.com

Have you checked into the cental hydraulics yet. Do you need a clutch pump or do you run it off the engine/transmission?
  4. chtucker

chtucker Senior Member

You can run it off the tranny but then your flow rates are more rpm dependant. You will probably want to do a clutch pump. Be aware that they are not cheap.

5. Patrick34

Patrick34 Member