1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Kentucky boy needing a little help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by crazyaaron, Oct 14, 2014.

1. crazyaaron

crazyaaron Junior Member

So i have been patiently waiting the dark on this web site just reading as much as i can and trying to figure out as much as i can with out having to ask questions but the time has come for me to start asking them.

I am new to plowing and i own a 2012 5.7liter 4x4 1500 dodge ram i am looking at getting a snoway 22 series plow for my truck with a spreader as well. My question for the commercial property that i have picked up i have gave them a price for 130 -150$ an hr for plowing and throwing some salt down is that a good price for the area i am in? Kentucky average snow fall is 12.5 inches and i know that is a lot less than most of the people states on here.

2nd question i have a guy that is offering me 1 ton of salt for 200$ and i can order as much as i want is that a good price? and also i know the recommended amount of salt is 1 ton an acre is that a season or a storm most of our snows average 1-5 inches and its usually on the lighter side of that. also i was wondering if that 1 ton an acre is for most of the northeast or everywhere?

Last thing if you were in my shoes should my bidding be differently than a price per hr or should i go with a total year price and a 12.5 inch max anything over is more?

Thanks for any and all help sorry for the questions i know most of the veterans have to answer this same stuff all the time i just want to do the industry right and not under bid it.

Aaron.

2. crazyaaron

crazyaaron Junior Member