1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Just wondering how far out of line I am?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Makndust, Dec 4, 2008.

1. Makndust

Makndust Senior Member

I have been sanding for about 3 years now. I have to buy the sand from the city. It costs me $35.00 / ton. I can only get it during business hours unless I want to pay an 80.00 afterhours fee. This means I have to store the sand truck in a heated shop (which I have to rent) in order to cover my customers on the weekends or after 5:00 PM. I go out and check parking lots for my customers on a regular basis (2 - 3 times a day on a snow event) I charge $10 per hundred for the sand, then application (minimal charge) on top of that. I have a 1 ton pickup and a 8' Vbox boss sander. I know that this probably sounds a little steep, but I babysit these accounts pretty hard. I've been called at 6:00 AM on a Sunday to sand the local truck stop. I weigh the sand pickup between each application so as to be accurate with my charging. I'm thinking about going to a discount when the account goes thru a full load at a time (mabey 7.50 / 100 lbs). What do you think? Thanks for the imput. I know that some guys charge 50.00 for a large lot in other towns and I know that I have way too much into it to do that.

2. cretebaby

cretebaby PlowSite Veteran

why do they have to call for you to sand if you are babysitting the job?

your price seems outragous to me but thats JMO

3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

You're paying $35/ton and charging $200/ton? Plus an application fee? Then, they have to call you? And you're griping about renting a heated building? What do you call "babysitting"?

$150 is a "discount"?